Kachihadashi's Blog

Music, nails and random fun stuff. Enjoy!

Calvin Klein nailpolish review September 20, 2009

Filed under: Hauls,Nail polish,Product reviews — kachihadashi @ 22:31

I’ve been wanting to post this for some time now… It’s the mini nailpolishes from the coupon haul! Here are some swatches:

004
Mad Red. This is a bright cherry red jelly with subtle silvery shimmer, perfect fora job interview or something like that. It’s very sheer, it needed 4 coats to look like this. If you like pinks, you can do one coat over a white creme to get a bold hot pink.

005

Phoenix. It’s a maroon/burgundy kind of color with lots of gold and red shimmer in it. Pretty, but a little boring.

025

The bottles. You can take the square tops off.
On to the formula… These polishes are nice and thin and dry extremely quickly, but apart from that, the formula just sucks. Sorry for the explicit language, but it’s true. Phoenix is too sheer to be a one-coater, and as soon as you apply more, you get bald spots. I used 4 coats on the swatches to get rid of them, and you can still see some on my index finger. Same with Mad Red, although it’s not that strong of an effect because the color is lighter. The sheerness is the main problem I had with both colors. Seriously, look how tiny the bottles are! How many full manicures am I supposed to get out of each when I need four coats? Like, five or six? That’s not the quality I expect from something with a Calvin Klein label on it. I have drugstore polishes that are better than that.
What experience did you make with this nailpolish? Did I just get bad bottles or is it always like that?
See you soon!

 

One Response to “Calvin Klein nailpolish review”

  1. Lucy Says:

    These are tiny. So glad I didn’t buy these. I was looking at them on the Sephora web site. Glad I didn’t order them.


Leave a Reply

